A Long Year

I’m not going to go into any details (oh, wait… I might), but 2014 was a long and stressful year for me.  I have developed several crafting ‘talents’ to help me in coping with the stress and giving me an outlet for it.  A couple of these, I have been doing for a while.  Knitting and spinning (spinning yarn on a spinning wheel – God forbid I should exercise!) are crafts I have known and loved for a few years now.  Learning to knit is just a slippery slope into spending all of your money on yarn and other fibery goodness.  And you find you know more about sheep, goats, alpaca, bison, and musk ox than you ever wanted to know.  It’s not good conversation starter.

Then I found Zentangle®.  (The Zentangle® art form and method was created by Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas and is copyrighted. Zentangle® is a registered trademark of Zentangle, Inc. Learn more at zentangle.com.)  Through the website TanglePatterns.com, I have become an addict to tangling and creating what is called ZIA, or  Zentangle® Inspired Art.  I have no thought at this time of becoming a CZT, or Certified  Zentangle® Teacher, but I do admire their skill and what they do.  I only hope that my little pieces of art enhance the art form in some way.  When I found TanglePatterns.com, I bought a sketchbook and started tangling.  I began by using the strings published on the site.  I have now decided that my goal is to do at least one drawing for every published string.  I have a long, long way to go, but I can certainly see my progression as I go.

I have also begun doing drawings and tangles on canvas that can be purchased at the big box craft stores as well as pre-cut melamine letters.  These are very fun and I enjoy them.  I hope you will be patient with me as I get photos posted and write about other things.  Like how some of the wood in my wood pile just won’t burn properly.

