A Mid-January Slump

The last few days have been difficult.  My fibromyalgia is acting up – hip and upper leg pain has prevented me from participating in many activities.  It seems like when I get in bed at night, it is the worst and I toss and turn to find any place comfortable enough to sleep.  The new Fitbit I got for Christmas records my sleep patterns.  When I set it on the normal setting, it shows my sleep is very, very restless.  Out of 8 hours in bed, my non-restless sleep is less than 3 hours. Ouch.  This is, I am certain, a large contributor to my high levels of pain.

I have been working on knitting a cowl/poncho in a really lovely blue/purple yarn that was chosen by the husband.  I was hoping to have it done last night and be able to post a picture today, but that didn’t happen.  I will probably finish it today.  With any luck, I will have enough yarn left to make myself some matching fingerless mitts.  My spinning wheel has been gathering dust.  I don’t think I have spun more than one time since Thanksgiving.  It is a hobby that brings me true joy and I really do need to dedicate some time to it daily.

Another thing I need to dedicate time to is finding a job.  I kept telling myself that I would find something and the job search would pick up after the first of the year.  Nothing much has happened.  To be honest with you and myself, this is a little depressing.  Do I need to change what I am looking for?  Is my expected rate of pay too high?  Am I less talented than I think I am or do I come across as offensive in interviews?  I just don’t know.  I am at some kind of crossroads and it is painful to me.  I know I need to make some kind of decisions, but I am paralyzed by all of the choices.

One thing coming easily to me right now is drawing.  Ideas are flowing out of me freely.  Time flies so quickly with the pen in hand.  Some of the drawings are not as good as I want them to be (it happens to everyone, right?) but some amaze me. It makes me so happy to have this outlet.  I have not spent a lot of time working on art since college.  And that brings me to the drawing for you today. It is String 002 from tanglepatterns.com and the link to this string is http://tanglepatterns.com/2012/05/tanglepatterns-string-002.html

8/21/2014 String 002
8/21/2014 String 002
