I Art; Therefore,

It feels so funny to say “Oh! Thank goodness it’s Friday!” when I don’t have a job and the weekend brings not a lot different than the weekdays.  But I am happy it is Friday.  Perhaps it is the difference in energy given off by the family that makes me feel that way.  I just sent A2 out to the bus after having a serious conversation about art and artists.  It seems that she is passionate about Van Gogh and is doing a school art project based on one of his paintings.  We discussed how he (nose wrinkled) had only part of one ear left and how troubled souls can be makers of great art.  What would have happened to Van Gogh if he lived now in the availability of high quality pharmaceuticals?  Would he still have been the great and influential artist that we see him as today?

That brings me to my point today – why do I create the objects, the drawings, the yarn that I do?  I don’t know if there is ever a good answer to Why? in creation.  Because! seems to be the right answer most of the time and the rest of the time is Why not?  I remember always being a crafty, coloring, doodling child.  But I also remember my mother dismissing anything I made and always feeling like I was lacking talent.  That feeling took years for me to get over.  It also led me to parent my children differently – never wanting to leave them with the impression that I thought their art or creation was somehow lacking.  Are they going to make millions or be a childhood prodigy? No.  Does that matter? No.  As a knitter, there is a common conversation among my fellow knitters – process vs product.  Most often for me, the act of creation is greater than what I get in the end.  I think this is the reason that I never have a difficult time in giving away a project that I spent a lot of money and time in creating.  I am attached to the process of the creating rather than the product of the creation.  Once in a while, though, I do find something that I just have to keep, where the process leads to something that I do want to keep and treasure.  And sometimes I start out thinking that I am going to make something that I really want to own and end up not liking it at all and then giving it away.  No, not liking is not the right term.  I think that what I mean is that it is not what I thought it was going to be and I would prefer to share it with someone else.

Today I plan to do a little drawing and a bunch of knitting.  I am to the point on a sweater where I will be putting the sleeves on scrap yarn and then joining the sweater to knit in the round.  I would like to make some good progress on it today.  I do have my great-niece spending the day with me, so I foresee watching a lot of cartoons and maybe she and I will do a little kid appropriate yoga.  Man, I love Fridays.

This brings me to today’s art of the day.  It is tanglepatterns.com String 009, not one of my favorite finished drawings.  Link: http://tanglepatterns.com/2012/07/tanglepatterns-string-009.html

String 009
9/8/2014; tanglepatterns.com, String 009

P.S.  I am going to be making some changes to the layouts on the Tangled Gallery and the Fiber Gallery.  So don’t be alarmed!

