On Being Selfish

I can be a very selfish person.  Yesterday, for example.  I had a job interview early in the day after which I came home and did nothing.  No laundry, no dishes, no cooking, no cleaning.  I had a kid home sick from school and I still managed to spend a majority of my day sitting on my sofa doing exactly what I wanted to do.  I love it when a plan works out!  The sick kid spent most of her day sleeping so I was able to crochet and finish a square of the blanket I am making for my Dad.  I did a first sketch of a large drawing that I want to do.  Of course, that being the first sketch, there is a long way to go before it is ready for any kind of public consumption.

I have had two job interviews this week – one on Monday and one on Tuesday.  While the positions look fairly similar on paper, the impressions given by the hiring managers in each interview was very, very different.  I have one in mind that I would prefer if offered both and both were to come back with equal pay and benefits.  Which they won’t.  Of course the one I would prefer is a longer commute, would have lower pay, and less room for advancement.  However, it would not require travel, long hours, being on call, or the high pressure of the other.  Obviously, I have not been offered either one and may not be offered either one.  I have to wait and see.

With all of the stress I have been under, I have scheduled a two hour massage for later this morning.  A two hour massage.  Is there anything on this earth that is quite that indulgent?  Now, I am not spending my non-existent money on this.  It was a gift certificate from Christmas and this is how I am choosing to use it.  In two hours of selfish relaxation.  Time for me to let my mind go completely blank and feel the stress leaving my body.  And then after that, I plan to come home, sit on my sofa and knit or crochet or draw.  Nothing that will increase my stress level again.  But first, I MUST get into the shower and shave my legs.  I’d hate to have anyone see them looking like they are.

Today’s drawing is tanglepatterns.com String 011.  It is a little busy, but I do like this one!  Here is the link to the string: http://tanglepatterns.com/2012/07/tanglepatterns-string-011.html

9/11/2014 String 011
9/11/2014; tanglepatterns.com String 011
