What a Nightmare!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Just a Dream.”


You’re having a nightmare, and have to choose between three doors. Pick one, and tell us about what you find on the other side.

I don’t really dream.  All of the medications for Fibromyalgia that I take seem to have stopped the dreaming.  I’m sure it is there, but I don’t remember it.  At least I am sleeping now.  Before I started seeing the Rheumatologist, I wasn’t sleeping enough or deeply enough to dream.  I did have certain times in my past when I did dream extremely vividly and had horrifying nightmares – when I was pregnant.  By my third pregnancy, I figured out that I was pregnant because of the screaming nightmares I was having nightly.  Hormones much? 🙂  The nightmares were so horrifying that I actually taught myself to wake up before anything too bad happened.  The trigger that I taught myself is to say “I see that this is not going in a direction I want to go, and I want out of this now.”  And then I wake up, knowing that I was at the start of a nightmare that I controlled my way out of.

Now, on to the challenge… Three doors in the middle of a nightmare.  The nightmare is generally that of a home invasion – no husband home and all of the children there.  My door of choice is not out of the house.  My choice is to hide the children or shove them out of the door out of the house.  And then the door I go for is the door to the gun cabinet.  And I seem to be very capable of using whatever arsenal I find there.  For some reason in my nightmare, I cannot walk away, but I must stand my ground, defend myself, my life, my children and my home.  My nightmare is one I have dreamed in many ways, in many different houses.  But before I taught myself to escape the nightmare, I always choose the door to defend myself and my own.

I know what this means.  It’s not a hard dream to interpret.  I will protect my children from danger of any kind with any means necessary.  I would go to the extreme of putting myself into the eye of the hurricane to protect them.  They are my life and my world.  As they grow, they need my protection less and less.  I wonder if I dreamed now, would my nightmares be different?  The kids need less physical protection now, but more emotional guidance as they are journeying through their teen years and into adulthood.

Today’s drawing from tanglepatterns.com is String 016 – link: http://tanglepatterns.com/2012/09/tanglepatterns-string-016.html

String 016
9/29/2014; tanglepatterns.com String 016
2 thoughts on “What a Nightmare!”

    1. 🙂 Me too! But, like I said, I have learned how to escape these dreams. I try to tell people who have nightmares that they do have control, even in their sleep.

Comments are closed.