1, 2, 3… Go Friday!

We’ll call today a day of counting.  Low number (mostly) counting.

  1. Today is the first day of the kids’ spring break.  One whole week plus one day of sleeping in and doing nothing.  Of course, they have big plans – at least A2 and the boy do.  A1 really just likes to be at home.  Such a homebody – she takes after me.  A2 wants to spend the days and nights with her friends who live around us, but she needs someone to run her around.  Too bad.  No one is around that can do that.  The boy has big plans with his friends who are not off to sunnier climates for break.  However, he has been told that certain jobs must be done first.  He may be sitting at home for the break waiting for those jobs to get done.
  2. Today is the boy and the husband’s second college visit.  They are going to the University of Kansas, which I am certain is a very good school.  However, I cringe at the thought of him being a Jayhawk.  On the other hand, it might make it easier for us to find basketball tickets for when Iowa State comes to town…  Speaking of Iowa State, they will be playing their second game in the Big 12 conference championship tonight against a very good Oklahoma team.  They squeaked out a win in the last possible second against Texas last night.  Texas played the best I have seen them play all season.  If ISU is going to continue on, they has better change their game plan of coming from behind to win in the 2nd half.
  3. And 3.  Today is my third day at my new job.  I am finding it to be a very interesting workplace.  The people I meet are such stereotypes.  To describe people to the husband, I have only to name a person that we both know from the past.  There is the hoarder who has been at the job for about 20 years and has so much stuff in her cube that it spills out into the aisle.  There is the ambiguously gay man who is married (to a woman), but he welcomed me by bringing me a couple of necessary supplies – a box of Kleenex and a bottle of hand sanitizer.  That’s it.  No pens or paper.  I almost burst out laughing at the poor guy.  But I like it here.  The people are very nice.  The environment is very casual and easy-going.  And the views of the city from the office windows?  Amazing!!

Today’s photo is of the latest yarn I have spun.  It is much less hideous than I originally thought it would be, but the husband calls it Halloween Barf.  And that name has stuck.  It has every color in the rainbow in it except for red.  To be honest, it didn’t look this bad in the fiber bag when I received it.  Thank goodness it was free!

Ugly Yarn
Halloween Barf
