Eleven Stories

One of the things that I have neglected over the last several years due to the severity of my fibromyalgia is exercise.  I am horribly out of shape.  Which is probably why I resemble the Pillsbury Dough Boy.  The last several years, my energy levels were so low, I could barely get off the sofa to make dinner or do some laundry.  When I had a job, there were times when I had to go to my car and sleep for my lunch hour just to get through the rest of the day.  And even if I did have energy, the pain would stop me from doing anything.  The medications prescribed by the doctor would help sometimes, but other times there was no relief.  I kept watching my weight go up and up and up.  I was at a point where all I could wear were my yoga pants and I was facing having to get another size larger in those.  The men’s XL t-shirts were starting to get too tight.

Around this time last year, I made a half-hearted effort to cut carbs from my diet by cutting out pasta, baked goods, and breads.  I lost about 7 pounds but found that I was only following this regimen when I felt like it.  On the weekends, waffles, coffee cake, pancakes, brownies, cookies – they called my name.  I rationalized how well I was eating during the week to allow myself to eat what I wanted when I was home with the family.  How did that work for me?  Not at all.  I bought new jeans when it started to get cold again.  But I had no clothes to fit.  For my husband’s work Christmas party and for family celebrations, I had to go out and buy new clothes.  I wasn’t working, I had no energy and none of my clothes fit.  No wonder I was horribly depressed!

But today I am a different person.  In early January, I began the Yoli diet.  Now, I am not trying to sell anything or encourage you to try this.  What I am doing is telling you why this is a miracle for me.  I am now down over 17 pounds since the beginning of this year.  My joint pain is almost gone.  I have more energy most days than I have had in years.  I have a new job (today is my 9th work day).  I work on the 11th floor of a building where I can see a panorama of downtown Kansas City.  I fit back into my work clothes and I look nice every day going to work.  I can make it through the day without a nap.  I feel happy and satisfied with myself.

And today, for the third time since I have started this job, I walked down eleven flights of stairs.  And then, for the second time since I started, I turned around and walked back up.  Eleven Stories.  Of Stairs.  No elevator for me.  It damn near killed me.  That’s okay.  It will get easier.  And if I keep up my diet and walk up and down eleven stories a few times a week, maybe I will be able to buy new clothes.  Smaller clothes.  And maybe I will be able to put my wedding ring back on.

Today’s drawing is tanglepatterns.com String 018 – http://tanglepatterns.com/2012/09/tanglepatterns-string-018.html  I really think that this is around the time I was really starting to get the drawing thing down.  I have more consistent liking of my drawings from here on through the sketch book.

String 018
10/14/2014; tanglepatterns.com String 018
