Dr. Pepper, You’re My Hero

Srsly.  I have not had a soda (or pop or Coke depending on where you live) in over 3 months.  Do you know how long 3 months is?  It’s about 18 pounds.  That’s how long it is.  This morning, A2 and I woke up late.  And by late I mean 5 minutes to catch the bus late.  Crap.  I got yelled at by an 11 year old for putting her peanut butter sandwich into the wrong pocket of her book bag.  The day didn’t start well.  Then, I got into the car and headed off to work.  On the radio, the DJ says “XX Parkway is a cluster”.  Guess where I had the car pointed?  Straight down XX Parkway and into the cluster.  And I had a meeting scheduled for 10 minutes before the handy-dandy Garmin on my dash informed me was my arrival time.  At some point in the middle of all of this mess and slow traffic, I realized I had left for work with no food.  No protein snackies for my high protein diet.  Frack.  Double frack.

Two meetings, several emails and a couple of spreadsheets later, I decided to go down to the little café/convenience store to grab some lunch.  A couple of sticks of string cheese and maybe a tub of yogurt.  Sounds good, doesn’t it?  But there is was – in the refrigerator – a can of Dr. Pepper.  It called my name.  I heard it.  And I answered its call.  I bought that can of Dr. Pepper.  I took it into the next meeting I had.  And I drank it.  It was sweet and cold and bubbly.  It was everything good that it could be.  When you have something every day, it just loses its luster.  The flavor becomes normal, everyday.  But wait 3 months and open that can.  Amazing what flows out.  Best ever.  So on this crappy Monday where things were going wrong, Dr. Pepper was my hero.

Today’s drawing is Tanglepatterns.com String #020.  I hope you like it.  I do.  Link: http://tanglepatterns.com/2012/09/tanglepatterns-string-020.html

String 20
Oct-2014; tanglepatterns.com String 020
