16, Going on 17

The Boy, that is.  Now, I am not sure how it happened that I have a child who will  be 17 within a week, but that is not my story.  My tale today is about being 16, going on 17.  Do you remember 17?  The Boy is going through what seems to be normal teenage angst, but it is causing me middle-aged mother angst.  He isn’t drinking or doing drugs or skipping school – for that I am so grateful.  He doesn’t yet have a driver’s license and can’t go anywhere without the Husband or I taking him or one of his friends picking him up.  He doesn’t have a girlfriend.  He took the ACT and did well enough to get into college.  He is passing all of his classes (some of them just by a hair, though).

What’s the problem with this angel, you ask?  Attitude.  100% Attitude.  A couple of weeks ago he got in trouble for missing his curfew.  The consequence was that he could not go to his favorite activity – Friday Night Magic.  The level to which he got upset about this was, in our minds as parents, completely out of proportion.  And it was during this conversation about consequences that he let us know that he does not believe in God and should not be forced to attend church with our family any longer.

I have spent a lot of time since that conversation thinking about when I was that age.  He is very much like me when I was that age.  All of the first paragraph describing him could have been used to describe me at that age.   The major difference is that I had parents who were mostly not present during my teenage years.  My dad worked and then ignored us and then went to bed early.  My mom was an alcoholic.  I had to put her to bed when I came home on weekend nights.  I could tell her anything I wanted about what time I came home.  I never got in any curfew trouble.  And I certainly never had the balls to tell them I was suffering mentally, trying to work out God, evolution, where we come from, why are we here.  But I had all of the same thoughts about going to church as the Boy.  But I went to church with the family.  As soon as I moved out, that was over.

I want to tell him that it gets easier.  That high school sucks, college is better, and after college when you really get to be an adult – that’s when life really gets going.  But I know he won’t believe me or he won’t listen to me.  I know that the Husband and I are the biggest idiots on the face of the earth and our sole purpose is to torture him.  So, I am trying to tell him I love him, that he is a good kid, that I am so happy to have him in my life.  So that one day, when he is out on his own, he will remember that.  And then he will believe it.

Today’s art from tanglepatterns.com is based on String 23.  Here is the link to that specific string: http://tanglepatterns.com/2012/10/tanglepatterns-string-023.html  About this time, I was starting to get less busy and more into having a background.  I hope you like it!

String 023
10-13-2014; tanglepatterns.com, String 023
