My Hobby is Out of Control

I have dreams like some horror movie.  My fiber stash holds an uprising. Feeling neglected, it comes at me for revenge.  I bet it could smother me with little effort.  I don’t even want to count the yards of yarn, the pounds of fiber, the number of projects I am in the middle of.  I don’t have any idea how many knitting needles or crochet hooks I have.  And I certainly don’t want to have any idea of the amount of money I have spent accruing all of these piles of stuff and methods of storing them.

There are some yarns I am hoarding until something perfect comes up.  I have this beautiful purple/gray yarn that is destined to be a top.  I have some unbelievably beautiful sparkly yarn that is so dark green and purple that it looks black.  That one needs to find just the right project.  Then there are the 5 skeins of softness that would become a sweater, but they are in two different colors and I don’t really want a striped sweater in these colors.  And so these are hoarded.

And sock yarn?  Holy cow do I have sock yarn!  I have two skeins specially dyed for me in deep dark red and black, a lovely lavender, a red white and blue combo that will be super cool when made into socks, a lovely spring green, and many self striping combos.  But I don’t really want to make socks.

Then, there is the fiber stash.  4 pounds of raw alpaca, 6 pounds I came home from yarn school with, the multiple pounds from previous yarn schools, some silk that is too beautiful to risk screwing it up, bamboo with spins amazingly.

I work, I come home, I make dinner, and then I have to decide – what gets my attention until I am ready to fall down for the night.  Do I crochet one of the 3 blankets I am working on?  Do I knit this amazing shawl?  Do I spin what is currently on the wheel?  Sometimes, I just start something new.  Like mittens or socks or washcloths.  Something I could finish quickly but I don’t because by the next night I have forgotten about that.

Or I could draw.  Or paint.  Or sew. Or quilt.  There is too much.  Too much.  But don’t ask me to give any of it up.  It’s just not going to happen.  I swear, one day, I will be done with all the things.  Until then, let me keep worrying that it will attack me in my sleep.

Today’s drawing is Tanglepatterns.com String 027.  Link: http://tanglepatterns.com/2012/11/tanglepatterns-string-027.html

String 27
2014-11-19; tanglepatterns.com, String 027
