Music and Books

Today at work, I had my headphones plugged in and had on a playlist that I call Mellow Shit.  Since I am of a certain age, it doesn’t have a lot of recent music on it.  It is easy for me to work to because it is music I know every word and every note of and I can put it into the back of my head and it drowns out the noise of my office.  Sometimes, though, I catch a line or a phrase or a whole song that brings me out of what I am doing.  And sometimes the songs will bring me back to a book that I have read.

Today the song that pulled me was another by Gordon Lightfoot – If You Could Read My Mind.  It always takes me into Jane Eyre.  The gothic imagery in the song make me think about the tragic hero that Mr. Rochester is, about the way I cry and cry and cry every time I read the book.  I even tried to watch the most recent movie version and started in about half way through and started crying immediately and didn’t stop until well after the movie finished.  I am definitely a weeper!

One of my ponderings today is that I love the song Wuthering Heights by Kate Bush.  It even inspired me to read the book about 10 years ago, but the book did not inspire the love in me that I wanted to have.  And I have never read any Jane Austen or seen any of the movies based on her books.  Am I missing something here?  I just know that Jane Eyre takes me to a place that no other story does.  And I always love reading other books or watching other movies and saying – Oh! They’re pulling a Jane here!

Today, I have no drawing for you, but I do have some new yarn that I just spun.  I have just returned from a most successful Yarn School.  And I dyed some fabulous fiber to make into amazing yarn.  Here is the first of what I dyed and spun:

Yarn
BBQ Salmon
