Not a Mad (Wo)Man

Before our big move to the city three years ago, the Husband had been un/under-employed for two years.  This was a period of time we were prepared for him to be without employment and knew that the result of his job search would be us moving from rural farmland to a big city.  One of the most annoying things about this time of his lack of employment was that I would come home and he would tell me about watching Mad Men or Breaking Bad in marathons on Netflix.  At the time, I was working full time, taking full time coursework in an online Master’s Degree program, and keeping track of the house and the three kids.

Coming home at the end of the day to hear “What’s for dinner?” followed by the daily marathon antics of Walter White and/or Don Draper did not endear me to either of them.  Or me to the Husband.  That was a very stressful time in my life and my marriage.  I would be lying if I did not admit to wanting to run away from home almost weekly during that timeframe.  During this time, I was on prescribed anti-depressants which kept me on somewhat of an even keel.  My relationship with the Husband endured and we are now in a much better place together.  But I never latched on to Mad Men or Breaking Bad the way others did.  But I did continue to hear about the ongoing escapades so I had some knowledge of the main characters and what they were up to.

In the past week or so, when the entire TV viewing populace was preparing for the end of the Mad Men era, I knew what was going on.  I think the main reason I disliked watching Mad Men is because of the above described resentment.  However, I also found almost no redeemable characters.  They were smart and well written.  The costuming and set design was incredible.  I could admire the acting and the paintings on the walls of the offices.  But I didn’t like the people.  They were not people I could find myself caring about.  But I committed to watching the final episode.  And I liked it.  I liked Peggy and Sears & Roebuck Grizzly Adams getting together because I wanted, of all the characters, Peggy to have some bit of happiness.  I liked that Don ended up in a place where he was confronted by multiple demons while he was sober.  And he, I believe, found something in himself that he could like.  I’d like to think that he would stay sober and continue to search for the Don inside that has some redeeming quality and some likeability.  And that is what the end does to us – allows us to project on Don a future for him that we would like to see.  Is that how shows should end now?  Others give us endings, points of time where things are wrapped up for the characters that we have lived with for years.  But Mad Men, like the Sopranos before it, gave us no answers.

Today, I will give you a drawing from Tanglepatterns.com, String 029 – http://tanglepatterns.com/2012/12/tanglepatterns-string-029.html  This is one where I experimented with using only two patterns to fill the drawing.  I like it more that others like it.  Which is fine since I draw for myself.

String 29
2015-01-14; tanglepatterns.com, String 029
